Wisconsin Nudists?

Just another reason why I love my home state!

In Wisconsin, when you think left, Wisconsin goes right; when you think purple, Wisconsin goes lemon-lime on you!

Here’s another pocket of level-headed people living out their rational dream in Wisconsin.


Source.

As the New York Times reported yesterday, nudists who self-refer as “Naturists” have been enjoying the quiet relaxation of being nude in nature for decades at this beach area on the Wisconsin River.

The Wisconsin River in this part of the state is full of sand bars and a popular place for all sorts of outdoors activities and water sports. I have spent several lovely afternoons and evenings with friends on the Wisconsin River, floating along, swimming, watching waterskiers and wake-boarders. It is fabulous! There is even a floating food boat that sells hot dogs and other assorted street-food (‘river food’ didn’t sound right!).

While I was never aware of being in the company of a Naturist, I have to admit that I saw a whole lot of skin there. Let’s face it, it’s summer and usually hot and humid in Wisconsin, people like to hang out in bathing suits that are more or less completely revealing. I am also of the mind that it’s okay for kids to see adult genitals; in fact, I think it is a whole lot healthier for kids to see them in un-exciting, everyday, non-sexual ways, so genitals in general aren’t so scary when puberty hits!

This crossroads of down-home sensibility (by the Naturists, in case you’re not tracking with me) and the young druggies messing things up (recent influx of drug and sex-related arrests in the area traditionally used by the Naturists) shows one of the drawbacks of the internet. Yes, the article credits the beach’s public exposure to the internet (Where’s Al Gore NOW?). Somebody talked about the nudist beach on the internet and the Naturists’ secret was laid bare.

Fortunately, the internet can also be a force for good. This is true even when you mix down-home sensibility (The Peterson Farm Bros) and young druggies (presumably LMFAO). Without further ado, I give you LMFAO’s “I’m Sexy and I Know It” versus The Peterson Farm Bros’ “I’m Farming and I Grow It”

First, the original, LMFAO:

Next, the parody contender, The Peterson Farm Bros

I'm Farming and I Grow It di lemarswayer

The fact that these two videos co-exist in my world give me hope that Wisconsin’s young druggies can learn to reel in their police-attracting behavior (do what you want, just don’t ruin it for the Naturists!), that the conservatives who fear adult genitals can relax and laugh (these two videos should really help out), and that when I next get the chance, I can sunbathe nude on the Wisconsin River.

Forward! Wisconsin!

1 Comment

Filed under 5-100

One response to “Wisconsin Nudists?

  1. Ha! I have to admit I think it would be really cool to be naked in nature.

Sharing is caring...