Top Top Lists

I love the end of year “Top X” lists.

HuffPo put out a list of the top 25 Articles Women Should Read from 2012, and I’ve copied the list below. You can check out the original article here. I read all 25 articles and chose my top five, noted at the bottom of this post. Enjoy!

Happy New Year’s Eve!

1. Why Women Still Can’t Have It All
Anne-Marie Slaughter

2. Can Modern Women Have it All?
Rebecca Traister

3. The Ripped, Bikini-Clad Reverend (Wisconsin shout-out!)
Reverend Dr. Amy Richter

4. Transformation and Transcendence: The Power of Female Friendship
Emily Rapp

5. At the Pinnacle of Hillary Clinton’s Career
Rachael Combe

6. Ashley Judd Slaps Media in the Face for Speculation Over Her ‘Puffy’ Appearance
Ashley Judd

7. All the Wedding I Have Ever Been to, as I Remember Them
Jen Doll

8. It’s Different for ‘Girls’
Emily Nussbaum

*Jill’s note: Read 9 & 10 back-to-back
9. Being Mean to Fat People is Pointless: A Good Old-Fashioned Plea for Civility
Linda West

10. I Know Why the Fat Lady Sings
Caitlin Moran

11. Seeing Nora Everywhere
Lena Dunham
*Dunham’s second presence on the list, and a nod to the late Ephron.

12. Ann Bauer Looks Beyond the Mirror
Ann Bauer

13. Dear Sugar, I Could Really Use Your Help Here
‘Tiny Beautiful Things’ Cheryl Strayed
– by Anna Holmes
*Jill note: Cute, poignant; but overkill.

14. I’m Letting Go of My Pregnancy Dreams
Emily McCombs

15. Why Photoshop Isn’t As Big Of A Deal As Everyone Makes It Out To Be
Amy Odell
*Hilarious read and has a priceless Bill O’Reilly reference!

16. Mothers, Sisters, Daughters, Wives
Mimi Swartz
*Unfortunately, you have to register to read this article. It is a free registration.
**Also, the account is probably the best example of the dangers of ignorance in legislation and a very worthwhile read.

17. Numbers About My Mother
Melissa Chandler

18. Boys On The Side
Hanna Rosin
*Does anyone else think of that Drew Barrymore movie when they hear this title?

19. The Mom Stays In The Picture
Allison Tate

20. How To Be Friends With A Congresswoman
Erin Gloria Ryan

21. The “F” Word
Jennifer Weiner

22. Free To Be
Dan Kois

23. I Once Was Obese
Shannon Chamberlain

24. The Great Pretender
Jenny Zhang

25. She Who Dies With The Most “Likes” Wins?
Jessica Valenti

Jill’s Top 5:

Jill 1. Transformation and Transcendence: The Power of Female Friendship
Emily Rapp
A touching account of the writer’s hindsight of women’s relationships in her life; especially traumatic as she is struggling to come to terms with the fatal diagnosis of her toddler son.

Jill 2. Ashley Judd Slaps Media in the Face for Speculation Over Her ‘Puffy’ Appearance
Ashley Judd
Sometimes I like Ashley Judd’s performances, other times I find her acting a bit stiff, but this article convinces me that her intellect is a force to be reckoned with, and my respect for her is secured. Plus, she used the word otheration.

Here’s my favorite excerpt:
“That women are joining in the ongoing disassembling of my appearance is salient. Patriarchy is not men. Patriarchy is a system in which both women and men participate. It privileges, inter alia, the interests of boys and men over the bodily integrity, autonomy, and dignity of girls and women. It is subtle, insidious, and never more dangerous than when women passionately deny that they themselves are engaging in it. This abnormal obsession with women’s faces and bodies has become so normal that we (I include myself at times—I absolutely fall for it still) have internalized patriarchy almost seamlessly. We are unable at times to identify ourselves as our own denigrating abusers, or as abusing other girls and women.”

*Ironically, the day I read the article, a suggested “You Might Also Like to Read” was a headline about Kate Middleton’s weight. UGH!

Jill 3. Seeing Nora Everywhere
Makes you feel good.

“She explained that being a working mother will never be balanced, so we just need to get over that and try to do the best we can.” (Jill = YES!)

Jill 4. The “F” Word
Jennifer Weiner
“Does she need to know, now, that life isn’t fair, or can she have a few more years of thinking that it might be that way? I feel her eyes on me, waiting for an answer I don’t have. Words are my tools. Stories are my job. It’s possible she’ll remember what I say forever, and I have no idea what to say.

So I tell her the only thing I can come up with that is unequivocally true. I say to my daughter, “I love you, and there is nothing you could ever do to make me not love you. But I’m disappointed in you right now. There are plenty of reasons for not liking someone. What she looks like isn’t one of them.””

Jill 5. She Who Dies With The Most “Likes” Wins?
Jessica Valenti

“The truth is that we don’t need everyone to like us, we need a few people to love us. Because what’s better than being roundly liked is being fully known—an impossibility both professionally and personally if you’re so busy being likable that you forget to be yourself.”

A worthwhile read with questions to ask yourself about why you care if others like you.

4 Comments

Filed under Awesomeness

4 responses to “Top Top Lists

  1. When I came to work today I was expecting to have a nice, easy day of reading my book. (No one is working on New Year’s Eve so there’s nothing to do!)
    Then I saw this blog post and I CAN’T GET OFF THE INTERNET. So many good articles!! I’ve been thinking a lot about the possibility of not having children, or if I do, what it would mean for my career. I’ve also been thinking about what it means to be a woman in the workplace, so pretty much every article is open in my browser now …
    Thanks for posting these!
    Happy New Year! 😀

    • Aw man. I don’t know why it always logs me in under my old WordPress account. So annoying!

      • Glad you love the articles, too! I read them all afternoon yesterday and finished up this morning. If you have to be at work on NYE, reading this stuff is a good way to go.

        I was a little disturbed at how much body weight and body image were the focus of the articles; but it is an accurate reflection of how much we talk about it, especially in the media. And, they had a good selection of works that showed a lot of different viewpoints, so overall I wasn’t upset about the theme’s presence.

        I’ve been referring to the list as Required Reading of 2012, but HuffPo directs it at women…which I thought was kinda dumb. I think almost all the articles apply to both genders; even if men aren’t doing the labor, more and more they are considering whether to have kids or not, too. Okay, okay, not in exactly the same way yet, but I’m just in a mood where I’m against all of this division of the sexes stuff. I’m over it!

        • Totally agree! In fact, most of the time when I read these kinds of things, I send them to my male friends and they’re interested as well! I think maybe males wouldn’t seek them out, but when you talk to them about it they definitely have a lot of opinions and are interested.

Sharing is caring...

