All that we see or seem

The vibrancy of twilight often leads my mind astray and tonight was no different.

Wondering about the future and the past instead of choosing to engage in this moment, I stepped onto a path of surreal exploration and ultimate dehydration.

Sin querer, old memories were brought to light.

A blog post reminded me of the awesome movie “Waking Life.” (The blog post contains a link to the full-length movie).
– The post’s author reminds us that:

“The title is inspired by philosopher George Santayana‘s maxim: «Sanity is a madness put to good uses; waking life is a dream controlled.»”

Then, my brother’s email brought an inspiring quote of the long dead Persian poet Rumi.

“Let yourself be silently drawn by the strange pull of what you really love. It will not lead you astray. ”
Jalal ad-Din Rumi (1207-1273); Persian poet, mystic (Email of the day by Values.com)

Finally, my daily-poem-by-email brought me the Edgar Allen Poe poem that ignited my passion for wordplay, for poking my finger into the ether that composes reality, for taking a big bite of life and experiencing as much flavor as I can while the juices try to escape and run down my chin.

Take this kiss upon the brow!
And, in parting from you now,
Thus much let me avow
You are not wrong, who deem
That my days have been a dream;
Yet if hope has flown away
In a night, or in a day,
In a vision, or in none,
Is it therefore the less gone?
All that we see or seem
Is but a dream within a dream.

I stand amid the roar
Of a surf-tormented shore,
And I hold within my hand
Grains of the golden sand
How few! yet how they creep
Through my fingers to the deep,
While I weep – while I weep!
O God! can I not grasp
Them with a tighter clasp?
O God! can I not save
One from the pitiless wave?
Is all that we see or seem
But a dream within a dream?

Leave a comment

Filed under 5-100

Sharing is caring...

