Mt. Etna Eruption News Coverage

We made MSNBC!

Apparently, Mt. Etna has erupted SEVEN times this year. That’s in addition to the handful of times she blew in 2011…and we’re lucky enough to be here to see it.

Click here for a beautiful view of the hot lava spewing forth from the earth.

The morning after the eruption MSNBC reported on, I was wandering out of the bedroom in my early morning haze. The sound of Maki meowing leads me to his location, and our ritual includes a quick morning snuggle as I gaze out at the world. That morning, the sun was just coming up behind the house, from the Ionian Sea. Rays of light were illuminating the mountain, making it look like it was glowing. Immediately, I could see the lava flow emitting a glow of its own as it settled into the business of burning down to black ash and dust.

Luckily the winds carried the ash away from our terrace, though we haven’t always been so lucky…(ah, I love a split infinitive at the end of a long day).

Cheers!

5 Comments

Filed under 5-100

5 responses to “Mt. Etna Eruption News Coverage

  1. Awesome (sic) photograph to be able to see the red of the lava, and the steam and ash as well. It must be a little unsettling to live within ash distance of the perennial pyrotechnics of Etna?

    • I was a little nervous when we first arrived and the ash appeared as a layer of soot, making the roads slippery and sounding gritty under our tires. Yet, it is just accepted by everyone here, who has lived with it on and off as the volcano is more and less active over the years. So, I adjusted pretty quickly to living with it. Everyone piles ash next to the garbage cans because the typical trash load would become too heavy if we included the ash in the can (we have neighborhood garbage disposal, no truck comes to my house, I go to a community garbage bin). You have to be careful washing it off of many surfaces as the ash can scratch through veneers and paints. And, it affects asthmatic conditions. But otherwise, it is just another act of nature to me now – much like a snowstorm or heavy rainpour in other places I’ve lived.

      • Well I guess so. But I’m amazed – so much ash in a week you have to dispose of it separately. Is it being put into special soil-making projects?

        • Wouldn’t that be nice?

          I know some people use the ash to fertilize gardens, but with so much ash, there is too much for personal use. I don’t know what the municipalities do with it, but I am pretty doubtful that there is a special project for it. Acireale does recycle, so it’s not like I’m saying they are out of touch, just that the piles of ash that linger by the dumpster for weeks after the eruption that brought the ash make me think there’s no project.

  2. Pingback: Sigonella Directory | The Cinquecento Project

Sharing is caring...

