Italian Tart

Cinquecento

Tomorrow our office is holding a Carnevale pot luck and “80s” dress up day. We are honoring the Italian tradition of dressing up around Carnevale, but giving it the structure of the 80s. Yes, I will share a photo of my outfit!

Over the last two weeks, I have seen the most adorable kid and baby costumes that I tend to associate with the U.S. Halloween tradition. Parents rolling bumblebees and Snow Whites through the grocery store, a cowboy holding his mama’s hand as they stroll through the mall. It is a treat to see these moments of cuteness everywhere we go.

I am hoping to bring moments of cuteness to my day tomorrow, too. Just wait until you see the side ponytail I am going to rock.

My offering for the pot luck aspect of our celebration is an “Italian” savory tart. I baked the crust from scratch, thanks to Alice Waters’ simple recipe.

Thank you also to Uncle Michael for the useful and attractive bamboo cookbook holder!

I par-baked the crust to create a barrier to liquids, then baked a light layer of parmigiano reggiano onto the crust as an additional liquids barrier.

Next, I laid down a thin layer of sauteed onions. The onions were about 60% of the way to caramelized. Simultaneously, I par-baked thin strips of dough to criss cross over the top of the egg batter layer.

“What egg batter layer?” you ask, well, the layer of four eggs, two dollops of yogurt, salt, pepper, two tablespoons of pickled eggplant, four tablespoons of thinly sliced bell peppers, and a quarter cup of shredded parmigiano reggiano. Whisked together and rested for about fifteen minutes. That layer went on top of the slightly-caramelized onions, for about seven minutes, and then the criss-cross layer went on for about five minutes.

After that, it was time to lay the tomato slices across the top. Per Cook’s Illustrated’s suggestion, I sliced the tomato ahead of time, salted the slices and drained the slices on paper towel. Immediately prior to layering onto the tart, I blotted the excess salt off of the tomato slices. I baked for seven minutes more before switching to the broiler function. I gave the tomatoes another seven minutes before putting the final layer of shredded parmigiano on top and broiling until just about crunchy.

While I can’t speak for the flavors, texture or consistency, I can tell you that this tart smells amazing! The test comes tomorrow, when it has to compete with all of the other delicacies from my colleagues.

Buona notte!

4 Comments

Filed under 5-100, Food. Cibo.

4 responses to “Italian Tart

  1. Oh crap! Credit goes to my brother Jim for the 80s day dress-up idea! Thanks brother!

  2. MBSmith

    Absolutely beautiful! I want one for myself…

  3. Sharon

    The tart looks delicious and I can smell the flavors coming through. I will be copying down your recipe ingredients and directions to see if I can duplicate the dish. Can’t wait to see the outfit.

Sharing is caring...

