Hitting the pastry limit: a sad, sad day. Tocchiamo ferro that the limit gets reset.

Cinquecento

(Uno) 1. If you haven’t already, please, please, please check out Mi Scusi! This blog is written about the same area of Sicily and the author is a wonderful writer who captures the heart of the moment in her story-telling. Her most recent post made my heart sing.

(Due) 2 e (Tre) 3. Two new Italian idioms:
“Incrociare le dita” = cross your fingers. This one crosses the language barrier.

“Tocchiamo ferro” = touching iron… This is a close relative of the English idiom “knock on wood.” You know how we look around and if no “wood” is there to knock on, many people knock on their heads in a light-hearted joke? Yea, well, the Italian men would look around and if there is no “iron” to touch…they, uh, well, they touch something else that they would like to *think* is as strong as iron. Ahem.

(Quattro) 4. Anais Nin. She has a mesmerizing spoken voice, and her writing’s not bad, either. She said: “My ideas usually come not at my desk writing but in the midst of living.” This is why I am constantly trying to carry a notebook around with me. Anybody have ideas for jotting down ideas in the moment?

(Cinque) 5. Hitting the pastry limit. I am not a big donut person (nor a doughnut person), I didn’t even really go for the pastries before we arrived here. You may remember my pastry ravings from Geneva, the ricotta donut song I was singing, or you can anticipate the amazing pastries I had at Escriba (Barcelona)…so all of us must be a little surprised when I hit my pastry limit at work today. It was a sad day for all involved: me, my stomach, and my throat (not that I barfed, just that it felt like my stomach was trying to push the pastries up my throat).

Cento

Celebrating my January yoga goal by adding a new element! I have been practicing yoga off and on since a former boss inspired me (Marcia) with the calming, soothing nature of the strengthening and stretching practice of yoga. My practice ebbs and flows; due to adjusting to Sicilia, I have been in a big ebb. In January, my goal was to do five sun salutations a day, for at least 27 days out of the month. I did it and am carrying my goal forward into February and adding an extra motion; keeps my blood flowing and my practice daily.

Leave a comment

Filed under 5-100

Sharing is caring...

