Merry New Year!

Cinquecento

(Uno) 1. Watching the fireworks from the roof terrace last night was among the best fireworks displays I have seen. Fireworks are widely available here and neighbors, business owners and individuals set off impressive displays. From our vantage point, we could see fireworks nearly 360 degrees, including the pop and flare of the shows on mainland Italy (Calabria), to the east. Truly awesome.

(Due) 2. Reviewing the High-Lo-High of our 2011’s as we awaited the fireworks last night. My contributions were:
High: Moving to Italy (on my “dream” list),
Lo: Feeling less able to connect in my conversations with others (it’s hard to make new friends),
High: Finding a good job on an overseas base!!!

(Tre) 3. Getting up this morning to read many of my favorite bloggers’ new year posts – full of reflection, ambition and humor. Blogging has been a wonderful addition to the second half of 2011, I cannot wait to see what 2012 has in store.

(Quattro) 4. Waking up to a brilliant sunshiney day with Mt. Etna sparkling in the light.

(Cinque) 5. Breakfast al fresco. Dave made his best hashbrown scramble yet, mmmmm. Bloody mary for Dave, tea for me, coffee for Jim.

Cento

Deliberate Practice.”

Enduring Discomfort.”

Stepping deeper into the reality of my life.”

These themes took shape over the past months; the concepts speak to me on a gut level. I feel vital and abuzz with life energy when I make deliberate choices about how to spend my time. Following through on my morals, on my goals, and on my responsibilities is often uncomfortable, yet the rewards for completing such actions are immeasurable, so I endure discomfort (as a deliberate practice). To avoid crafting a mere image of myself, I contemplate my goals, my practices and my failings in an effort to step deeper into the reality of my life. Bring on 2012!

6 Comments

Filed under 5-100

6 responses to “Merry New Year!

  1. jenny

    Happy New year, sounds like a beautiful sight you had last night and that breakfast looks delicious!

  2. I’m all about big breakfasts like that! Best meal of the day. I agree about blogging as well – I’ve had so much fun the past couple years hearing people’s thoughts from around the world. Love it.

  3. Maybe my one resolution should have been: be less wordy! I’m in awe of your ability to write concisely but still convey meaning.

  4. that looks super tasty! yum!!! what kind of skillet is that? do you bake the dish at all or just cook everything stove top?

    • It is a cast iron skillet (brand??? there’s a picture of a mountain on the back of it, I’ll check the brand later). Yes, we (er…my husband, Dave) start all the veggies and potatoes in the skillet (sometimes we use frozen hashbrowns, but prefer fresh potatoes. Are potatoes really “fresh”? lol). Anyway, we start them in the skillet to get some browning, and then put the finishing touches on top. Sometimes that means the onion rings and eggs, other times (ahem, dinner tonight) that means slices of salami, cheese and tomatoes. With the finishing touches atop, we slide the whole skillet right into the oven. We bake it for 15-? minutes, whatever feels right and it is always delicious.

Sharing is caring...

