New Year’s Eve is upon us

Cinquecento

(Uno) 1. Seeking inspiration? Check out Six Word Story.

(Due) 2. Wrote a letter to Jasminka, my Women-for-Women International Sister who lives in Bosnia. WfW is an amazing organization that creates empowering workshops for women in war-torn countries. There are many ways of supporting the organization, and I chose to sponsor one sister for a one-year training program. I can write letters to her, receive letters and feel that I am making a positive impact in someone’s life rather than donating to a bottomless pit of charity. Jasminka will graduate at the end of February 2011.

(Tre) 3. Delicious breakfast sandwich, egg and arugula, prepared by my brother! Yay. He is earning his keep.

(Quattro) 4. Killer brownies made by my mom, carried to Italy by my brother and ingested by me. Only crumbs survived once I saw these caramel-rich bites of home – sorry no photos!

(Cinque) 5. Macaroni and cheese that will change your life, via my friend Steph’s recommendation. She was so RIGHT! Yummy. Pictures via Dave, thanks Dave. This was what we ate for dinner last night. I helped by shredding all of the cheese while wearing my new apron – Mom sewed it for me for Christmas!

Kiss the Cook!

Cento

A healthy mouth without industrial toothpaste? Organic Authority claims it can be done. I am always looking for ways to eliminate contact with unnecessary (and unknown) chemicals. Years ago I switched to baking soda based toothpaste (Arm & Hammer) because I thought it would have fewer chemicals. I got Dave hooked on this brand, and now it’s all we use. Unfortunately, my impressions were wrong – and my lips feel tight and irritated after I brush. I am going to start experimenting with with the essential oil and baking soda combination, and the sea salt rinse, recommended above. Here’s to dental health!

Leave a comment

Filed under 5-100

Sharing is caring...

