Sempre Dicembre

Cinquecento

(Uno) 1. Arance. Mmmm…I am still enjoying them.

(Friend posted this on Facebook – couldn’t find original source.)

(Due) 2. Wordplay. I love the power that words can hold and the ebb and flow of the usage of certain words. Artists, politicians, technicians, everyday people: we all influence language. “My humps” – “hump day” “speed humps” – examples of an everyday word with such a wide variety of usage.

(Tre) 3. The AOSC (Spouses Club) Holiday Party. We wined (well, I didn’t as the DD), dined, and white elephanted. It was great!

(Quattro) 4. Looking forward to a Skype conference with two wonderful Navy spouses I befriended in Seattle (Bremerton, Naval Base Kitsap). We are getting together to discuss “Going Overboard: The Misadventures of a Military Wife” by Sarah Smiley. There are many good things about this book, there are many more bad things about it. Let me know if you want to hear more, otherwise I am going to let its memory fade into oblivion as fast as possible.

(Cinque) 5. Sempre Dicembre. (See: Wordplay.) This made-up-holiday is in its inaugural year. My friend Millie proposed the idea of working out each day in December. “Sempre” means “always” in Italian and while December is “Dicembre” in Italian. Working out can mean a lot of things to a lot of people, our lower limit is either a 2-mile run or a 30-minute walk. I’m nearly halfway done and loving it!

Cento

Hershey’s kisses. Sigh. I have strong opinions against mainstream milk chocolate products (chemicals instead of milk or chocolate? no thanks). However, around Christmastime, I am a sucker for putting Hershey’s kisses in a bowl of oranges and candy canes; the bright foil wrappings are so festive! I am also a sucker for placing one such kiss in my mouth and sucking it until it has completely dissolved on my tongue. This delivers a childhood memory wrapped in shiny foil and otherwise-unappetizing-chocolate; it is amazing how powerful such memories are – no wonder food corporations market to children! Happy Holidays, bottom line.

20111212-163555.jpg

1 Comment

Filed under 5-100, Food. Cibo.

One response to “Sempre Dicembre

Sharing is caring...

