Cibi Preconfezionati

Cinquecento

(Uno) 1. Thinking about my goals. It is about time to revisit and evaluate – Italian language, running, writing, piano, yoga, travel…oh my.

(Due) 2. Work Holiday Party! While I can still hear the bass thumping in my ear (and we didn’t even make it to the dancing), I had a nice time at the annual holiday party. I even won a $25 gift card to the NEX!

(Tre) 3. An abbreviated slow dance. I had really been looking forward to dancing with Dave, but the scene was quickly becoming a drinking/college feel, so we bailed. We took a moment to slow dance before changing from our formal wear into our jammies.

(Quattro) 4. Six Feet Under. Yea, I know, nothing to do with Italy, but you’ve pretty much come to expect that from me, right?

(Cinque) 5. Cibi Preconfezionati. That is the translation for “junk food” according to Google Translate. Hmmm…I will have to ask around with my Sicilian colleagues and friends. In the meantime, check out the gender portrayals on the packaging.

Cento

I have the best of both worlds. While primarily living in the U.S. Naval community over here, I get to traipse through the Sicilian culture without the pressure of conforming to its social norms. These thoughts arise when I clean house. One Italian stereotype that I am not interested in exploring is that of the housewife/housemaid. The rumors that Italian women sweep 2-3 times a day, and maintain perfect cleanliness is one I want to keep at a long-arm’s length. Whereas I run at food traditions and the warmth of Sicilian hospitality, I cringe at the thought of that much cleaning.

1 Comment

Filed under 5-100, Food. Cibo.

One response to “Cibi Preconfezionati

  1. I’m waiting for my cookies to cool so I can put them away and go to bed–we are leaving for my Mom’s tomorrow (today!). Will you write more about your goals? I think will after Christmas.

Sharing is caring...

