Vino at Gambino

Cinquecento

(Uno) 1. Visiting Gambino Winery. It is situated high on the hills below Mt. Etna. We saw beautiful autumn colors as we made the drive up with a colleague of Dave’s.

(Due) 2. Photo shoot at Gambino. (See below) And smart talk, like “Bambino Gambino!” LOL. Wait, you aren’t LOLing? Maybe you had to be there…

(Tre) 3. Appetizers at Gambino. Smoked ricotta, mixed herb white cheese (that’s really how he described it), pico provolone (dry), pepato (black peppercorn in the cheese), salami, chestnuts and honey served with porkfat bacon, salsiccie, caponata, yummy greens that were sauteed and look similar to spinach and taste more like kale. They grow wild near the winery.

(Quattro) 4. Vino at Gambino. DOC and DOCG have merged to DOP people!!! Did anyone else know this? All my time at Lombardino’s has been erased. IGT is now IGP, too. Whoa. That blew my mind, especially after a few healthy “tastes” of wine.

(Cinque) 5. Laughing at the terrible movie “Urban Cowboy” – so bad! So, so bad.

Cento

The presidential debates may have started months ago, but this gal has been avoiding media coverage until the one-year mark. We’ve reached it and my disappointment is immediate and, unfortunately, unsurprising. While I prefer to find intelligence, forethought and compassion in political candidates, on ALL sides of the aisle; I at least expect to find maturity. Yes, that’s asking too much in this current political drama festival. But really, when you are running for President, I should hope you could at least take a couple steps away from name-calling your opponent. It is so childish! Let’s elevate the discussion, please.

Gambino Photo Shoot

It was a lovely day to visit a mountain winery.

Here are some of the beautiful autumn colors I was telling you about.

A few wine barrel relics displayed for posterity.

Of course, they grow olives and press olive oil, too. How Sicilian!

Just a little more sight-seeing before we go inside.

Time to go in and check this place out!

Pretty table settings, with chestnuts galore. We were a group of three, so we got to sit on the end in the sunshine. It was quite cozy!

Then, the appetizers! They paired the appetizers to go with the white wines (first) and then the red wines.

Although I was trying to keep my “tastes” reasonable, Dave was driving and I arrived on an empty stomach. Therefore, my photos peter off about now – missing any photos of wine, caponata or the delectable desserts (gianduja covered pears, mostarda with hazelnuts, and chocolate!). Oopsie! Guess I’ll have to go back and get the full scoop for y’all.

Mmmmm…I CAN tell you that the wines were mighty tasty!

Sober Dave even agreed – and we got the loot to show for it!

Ciao Tutti!

8 Comments

Filed under 5-100, Food. Cibo., Travel

8 responses to “Vino at Gambino

  1. jenny

    those are beautiful pictures Jill! I hope we can visit someday and go there!

  2. Looks wonderful. Is that a Monkey Puzzle Tree with you in one of the pictures? I first saw one of those in Victoria, B.C. and fell in love. I don’t think they would do well here though.

    • OMG – I totally missed your comment. Yes, I think it is a Monkey puzzle tree- which I became familiar with while living in Seattle. Such neat trees.

      Did you visit the Butchardt Gardens in Victoria? I made a visit there in May 2011 and I would go back any time and twice on Sundays, if you know what I mean. Beautiful!!!

  3. Sharon

    I am starting a list of places to visit when we come to visit you. This one makes the top of the list. Nice looking grape fields, elegant table setting and wine to match the food – all look good.

  4. Pingback: Princess Poopy-pants is Pooped Out « The Cinquecento Project

  5. Pingback: Crate and Barrel, minus the crate, add another barrel | The Cinquecento Project

  6. Pingback: Sigonella Directory | The Cinquecento Project

Sharing is caring...

