Never gonna give-nevergonnagive…

Cinquecento

(Uno) 1. Sicilians use their hazards to warn you that there is a traffic back-up. It is really useful because it helps you distinguish between a mere slow-down and a stand still.

(Due) 2. Cream cheese frosting. I don’t know why we limit ourselves to pumpkin based cakes only in the autumn season. Most people are using canned pumpkin anyway – why not have pumpkin cake with cream cheese frosting in the summer? Oh, you do? Well, share some with me, then!

(Tre) 3. The Big Lebowski! You will never believe this, but I actually misplaced LOST my Italian “Il Grande Lebowski” – and I intended to keep looking until I found it, but I caved last night and watched the original version instead.

(Quattro) 4. Temperate Sicilian autumn – I only carry a lightweight raincoat in case of rain, and supplement with a lightweight scarf. My awesome landlord, Signor Messina, claims we won’t need to turn our heat on until the end of December!

(Cinque) 5. Being mistaken for a local national! My approach at work tends to be to LISTEN a lot at first, and then slowly open up. After all, I’m there to get work done first and have a good time with my colleagues a close second. After sitting through two hours of conference calls and remote-powerpoint-presentations with a new group of colleagues, one of them asked if I was a local national! I’m not sure what that says about me – but I like feeling exotic, so there.

Cento

Rick Roll’d is stuck in my head, I keep seeing visions of Oregon legislators barely keeping a straight face and Obama unknowingly Rick Rolling McCain. This brings up the mind-body connection; I imagine Obama dancing on a teeny stage in my brain. No, not really; although NOW I am picturing it. I actually imagine the pulse of electricity that zinged its way through my brain when I first experienced a Rick Roll and how that pathway is strengthened when I see another Rick Roll. I could be strengthening anything in my brain! The power of our minds astounds me. Sha-zaam!

7 Comments

Filed under 5-100

7 responses to “Never gonna give-nevergonnagive…

  1. Ashley Shear

    My friend works for Nestle who owns that canned pumpkin company (she said canned pumpkin is a market where Nestle has something like 80% market share). Anyway, apparently it all comes from one pumpkin farm that doesn’t produce enough to keep shelves stocked year round. This makes me wonder, do people not make pumpkin pie in the summer because there is no canned pumpkin or is there no canned pumpkin in the summer because people don’t buy it?

    • Yea, it is weird to get all the pumpkins from one farm. And, I just don’t trust companies that have such a commanding market share – they aren’t motivated to find out if people want pumpkin puree all year long (This woman does!).

  2. I’m guessing that there just isn’t enough demand in the summer so there is always a few cans on the shelves left over from fall, which gives us the illusion of it always being there.

    A fun side note there is actually very little “pumpkin” in those cans It’s really a squash that has a similar taste and color. The key is this squash has very short fiber strands so the puree can be quite smooth without a lot of processing. After make a few hundred pounds of actual pumpkin puree over the last few years. I can assure you pie pumpkins are rather stringy.

    After Rick Roll I also went down the path to more Rick…even after singing along to Rick at work earlier in the day.

    • still on repeat: never gonna give… and loving it!

      How are you liking your new job? We should skype soon so I can hear all about it.

      D’oh! on the pumpkin/squash fact. I feel like I had heard that before. Frankly, I’m just fine with that and I wish I had better discipline about cooking/baking with squash. I always like it and it is pretty simple, hard-shell squashes almost never rot so shelf-life isn’t an issue like it is with some F&V, so – what’s my problem!?

      So when you make the real deal pumpking puree (pumpking – i love it!) – do you have to process it a lot longer in order to get a smooth product?

      • After pureeing the pumpkin flesh I pass it through a screen to get rid of the fibrous bits and any pieces of skin. Then i usually spread it out on a sheet pan and bake it longer to evaporate away some of the excess moisture, because pumpkin is a rather watery product.

        It’s actually a lot of work to do if you’re doing a small amount, since it’s kind of a production. The last “batch” of pumpkins I did was around 150 lbs of raw pumpkin.

  3. I love pumpkin. I eat pumpkin stuff year round. There’s this sauteed pumpkin dish at an Afghan restaurant here that I inhale.

    Anyway, I totally hear Dan on pie pumpkins being stringy. There was a pumpkin pie made from real pumpkins at one of Dave’s work holiday parties years ago and it was awful.

    And thanks for getting Rick Astley in my head, I’ve been singing it to my dog for days. (Never gonna give Chuck up, never gonna let Chuck down…).

Sharing is caring...

