Mt. Etna Erupts!

Cinquecento

(Uno) 1. Arriving home to our comfy house to happy kitties – thanks Kim!

(Due) 2. Settling in with Hal and Anisette. We picked up fresh pizzas and sacked into the couches with movies playing. It was great.

(Tre) 3. Packer win!!! I am definitley a Green Bay Packer fan, though I’ve mentioned I am not all that much of an NFL fan in general. Hal and Anisette follow the Packers closely and we followed the game online last night. I went to bed before it finished, but yay Pack! It always feels good to beat our bitter rivals, the Minnesota Vikings.

(Quattro) 4. Watching Mt. Etna erupt! This is the second or third time she has erupted since we arrived in August, but this is the first time Dave and I got the opportunity to watch. Thanks to our gorgeous house, we had a great view of the action.

(Cinque) 5. Realizing how much of this unfamiliar, exotic place feels like “home” now. I noticed this as I was talking with Hal and Anisette; I am assimilating! Great!

Cento

This week, subseqent posts will feature pictures from our Tuscany trip with Hal and Anisette. H&A are enjoying their first visit to Italy and decided to do some sightseeing in Roma before coming down to Sicilia. We met them in Roma and drove a rental car up to Pitigliano for the weekend before returning encieme (“together”) to Sicilia. The rolling Tuscan hilltowns completely charmed me. The streets and alleyways are pristine! After existing for thousands of years, the Tuscan hilltowns are well kept by their genial townspeople. The Tuscan allure is simple and powerful, like all things Italian.

And now, without further ado, the Mt. Etna fire, smoke and lava show. All photos taken from our terrace balcony in Acireale, Sicilia.

Well, all pictures except this one. This is taken from inside the living room to give you a sense of scale. Mt. Etna is about 20 miles away from us.

20111024-133229.jpg

Usually the night sky is dark toward Mt. Etna. Because she has been particularly active since January 2011, I have tried to check out the view at least once a night. Last night, I looked and saw this – I was speechless for a few moments. Then I sputtered “Dave! Dave! Dave!” and had to take a few deep breaths, as if I might scare away the lava if I spoke more. Finally, I was able to alert Hal and Anisette, too, and we all watched the action for about an hour before the clouds closed in to obscure our view.

20111024-133359.jpg

They may seem to be pretty similar if you scan through them quickly, but these are actually the best pictures from the fifty or so that I took last night. It was really fun to watch the few cars on roads well below Etna, we saw one stay in the same spot with hazards on for almost the same amount of time that we watched the show. We tracked the edges of the flow line and watched for new spurts of lava erupting at the top. It was exhilarating!

20111024-133441.jpg

20111024-133500.jpg

5 Comments

Filed under 5-100, Awesomeness

5 responses to “Mt. Etna Erupts!

  1. What a view…that’s pretty awesome!

  2. That’s crazy! What an awesome thing to witness! It’s always weird when you realize that somewhere unfamiliar is starting to feel like home- but it’s great!

  3. Wow! That is so cool but SO scary. I’m terrified of lava. I know that’s weird, but I’m so scared of it even though I’ve never even been close to any!

  4. Pingback: Sigonella Directory | The Cinquecento Project

Sharing is caring...

