Oy vey!

5-100

Cinque:

1 (uno). Morning meeting to discuss publicity duties. Sometimes meetings like this stress me out because the first meeting sets a certain tone. Great tone at this meeting, yay!
2 (due). Lunch meeting with my new colleagues! See above for my anxieties. This also had the group dynamic and I prefer getting to know people one on one. The colleagues are all good conversationalists and it went well.
3 (tre). Oy vey, paying a parking ticket I got in Catania. See below.
4 (quattro). Marriage is work. Having the tough conversations is the hardest work for me. I am grateful for my own fortitude and for Dave’s candor, compassion and commitment to staying in the conversation until it is over for both of us.
5 (cinque). PC or Mac? I still can’t decide!!! I am so excited to get a sleek new machine no matter what.

100/Cento

“Ooh, there’s a spot! Sweet.” You know this feeling when you score a precious free parking spot. It’s the feeling that life is going your way. The sign to take a few risks, am I right? Luckily I enjoyed this euphoria for a few hours before returning to find the ticket. And, in turn, looking further down the block to find the ‘no parking’ sign. Oy vey. A little crestfallen, I returned to base, got help filling out the ticket and later on paid it – at the post office. Yep, you can pay parking tickets at the post office. Neato.

Here we go! I hope it’s as much fun as the US post office.

20110928-134943.jpg

Wow. A ticket. This feels familiar. Like at the DMV. I hope I don’t have to wait like it’s a DMV.

20110928-135115.jpg

Ah, some nice chairs for waiting. And, just look at all those windows open. Great! This should only take five minutes.

20110928-135432.jpg

It did only take five minutes. It was great. The post office charged a small fee on top of the ticket price and the convenience was worth it. I didn’t have to track down an agency office or find a municipal building in an unfamiliar part of town. I just went a five minute walk from our residence hotel and took care of the ticket. Look what I spotted on my way out – Postamat! Sweet.

20110928-135914.jpg

2 Comments

Filed under 5-100, Adjusting

2 responses to “Oy vey!

  1. Sharon

    I liked your comment – “Marriage is work”. Somewhere I read that marriage is a good investment if you pay interest.

  2. Pingback: Sigonella Directory | The Cinquecento Project

Sharing is caring...

