More gelato, per favore.

5-100

  1. Rain storm! The heavy rain sounded like bucketfuls of water slamming onto the car roof as we drove. It left behind a fresh, clean smell.
  2. Started “The Beautiful Struggle” by Ta-Nehisi Coates. Mr. Coates has a great blog/internet-column at The Atlantic, where he is a senior editor. The column is always thought-provoking, often funny, and the comment-crowd is respectful and smart.
  3. Notebooks! I love a notebook and I miss getting ready for the school year with school supplies. Thanks to my new position with the AOSC and to my new job, I got TWO new notebooks for keeping myself organized. Love it!
  4. Started the countdown of nights until we sleep in our new place!!!
  5. Il Bignè Pasticceria Gelateria. Caffè e Fichi (Coffee and Figs).

Tipped off by the Sherbeth Festival 2011, I caught up with Il Bignè in Caltanisetta.

20110926-151632.jpg

The gelateria entered caffè gelato into the festival, so I knew I would be trying that flavor, the big decision was which flavor to eat with it.

20110926-151902.jpg

Thanks to the gelaterista (a la “barrista”) recommendation, I opted for “fichi” or “figs.” It was rich, dense, and powerfully fig flavored. The rich fig flavor was balanced by the crisp, cool, coffee gelato. The coffee gelato was perfect – just like eating iced coffee and just as refreshing.

20110926-152228.jpg

100:

Do you remember when you first physically felt an experience through your heart? When you realized that commercialized heart shapes actually pay homage to the physical heart? I do. I was 16 and mourning a friend. Every emotion pulsated through my heart and overwhelmed me with the powerful mind-body connection. My physical heart feels it when I am bonding with my family, remembering loved ones passed, and feeling the atmosphere of peace, safety and security a friend has created in her living room. Love, sorrow and compassion feel physically similar in my heart, what do you feel through your heart?

For the record, I am a huge fan of heart art, tastefully done. This sticker adorns my laptop, which erupted a death rattle yesterday.

20110926-152331.jpg

3 Comments

Filed under 5-100, Adjusting

3 responses to “More gelato, per favore.

  1. I love figs and I love Italian gelato. Have never had them together, probably amazing! Im drooling over here. 🙂

  2. Awww, you’re sweet! I enjoyed our coffee date; we’ll have to do that again soon. I, too, have a rather strong addiction for notebooks… and, really, office supplies in general. Yum. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Sigonella Directory | The Cinquecento Project

Sharing is caring...

