Innovations: Cinquecento as Armchair

As I was internet sailing (I think that is the translation for the Italian phrase for web surfing), I came across this awesome photograph of a re-purposed Fiat Cinquecento.

Check it out. Fiat Cinquecento chair in Sicily.

Original photo can be found here. The website, The Sicily Site, says that this chair is at a bar in Sciacca, which is about 3-4 hours from Catania, hmmm…I will have to keep it on my list of things to do when we visit the western side of the island. Luckily, I have a new site to visit when planning my Sicilian adventures:

The Sicily Site is a collaboration between Mother and Son, and is for people that want to find out first hand information about Sicilian culture, the Sicilian language, and all things Sicilian.”

 

The chair reminded me of my favorite restaurant in Bremerton, WA – Hi-Lo’s 15th Street Cafe. If you are ever anywhere near Bremerton and need a place to get yummy breakfast/lunch, go to Hi-Lo’s. You won’t be sorry. They make almost everything from scratch and they brew some very delicious coffee. Have the green eggs and ham scramble for me (pesto, mozzarella, ham, along with some of the best skillet potatoes in the world). If you have it made with egg whites and no ham, the server there named Jill might look at you funny, but she’ll get it done. I think I ordered it like that at least ten times from her and I still got the funny look every time.

However, the reason the Fiat Cinquecento chair above reminded me of Hi-Lo’s is because Heidi (Hi) and Lowell (Lo) use similar innovations in decorating the restaurant and creating unique seating options. Inside the restaurant, the rear end of a van is used as a coffee cubby (you serve yourself coffee and use one of the eclectic mugs in their collection). Additionally, they parked a VW van just outside the restaurant, gutted it, painted it and now you can be served breakfast and lunch inside of it! There is a fold-down table on the back end, too (weather permitting).

Heidi (on right) and another woman in front of the coffee cubby.

This picture is from Hi-Lo’s website, and I couldn’t find a picture of the Hi-Lo’s VW bus on the website, though you can see it featured in this article.

Another blogger posted a photo on her blog:

Thanks for the great memories, Hi-Lo’s, I’m not sure when we’ll be back, but I hope you’re still beautifying Bremerton!

 

Leave a comment

Filed under cinquecento, Food. Cibo.

Sharing is caring...

