Wow. Amazing. Jamie Beck as Elizabeth Taylor in “Cat on a Hot Tin Roof”

Recently, I reviewed the movie “Cat on a Hot Tin Roof.” While I was taking notes for the review, I also took illustrated and annotated notes about Elizabeth Taylor’s wardrobe. Why would I do such a thing? Because one of my all time favorite blogs, From Me To You, by Jamie Beck, often features the blogista in attire inspired by fashion icons past. I thought it would be really sweet to find outfits as attractive and flattering as those Ms. Taylor wears in Cat on a Hot Tin Roof.

After I had that thought, I came to my senses and realized that with all of my good intentions (but meager resources and even more meager fashion-sense), it might take me twenty years to find the appropriate pieces (nevermind staying/getting in shape) to be able to pay a meaningful tribute to Elizabeth Taylor. Hence, I thought I would email Ms. Beck and add it to her list of inspirational stars (I know, I know, duh – she already had Elizabeth Taylor on her list).

You may not know that Ms. Beck is up to her neck in New York Fashion Week (NYFW), or that she is due to zoom over to London for its fashion week at the conclusion of NYFW. But I knew that. I knew that because I follow her blog. I also knew that because her auto-reply to my email suggestion said as much. So, I was really surprised to find a reply from her in my inbox this afternoon.

Are you on pins and needles like I was when I saw her reply?

If not, you should be. This is HUGE!

Coincidentally, she had planned to honor Elizabeth Taylor, and that amazing Cat on a Hot Tin Roof dress today!

Check out the amazing photos in Ms. Beck’s post, and fall in love with her photography.

 

Jamie Beck to me
show details 11:07 PM (20 hours ago)

Hi Jill,

Such bizarre timing, I see we have the same taste (http://fromme-toyou.tumblr.com/post/10174640485/cat-on-a-hot-tin-roof).
Thanks for your inspiration!
Warmly,
Jamie
– Show quoted text –
On Tue, Sep 13, 2011 at 1:20 PM, Cinquecento Project <cinquecentoproject@gmail.com> wrote:

Hello Ms. Beck,

I am a recent follower of your blog and though not a fashionista, I am simply in love with the fashions you put on your blog, and the amazing photography.

Last night, I crafted a review of Cat on a Hot Tin Roof for my blog (https://cinquecentoproject.wordpress.com) and I took copious notes about Elizabeth Taylor’s costumes, in hopes of re-creating her outfits, the way I have seen you do so on your blog. While I may end up doing this, I know what I do could not compare to the excellent tribute you would produce. Thus, I thought I’d suggest it to you. Since I’m new to your blog, please forgive me if you’ve already covered these inspirations or have any aversion to Elizabeth Taylor.

Happy blogging,
Jill W


Jamie Beck, From Me To You
Photographer / NYC & beyond 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Sharing is caring...

