Una chiesa (church) e Un Negroni

5-100

1. Toured the Castello – great archeological museums, some modern art, chiesa (a church), history galore and natural beauty to top everything.
2. A lovely afternoon at the beach. Reading, short swim in the sea and Panarea and Stromboli looked on us all the while.
3. Dug into a great book, “A House in Sicily” by Daphne Phelps. She dedicated this copy to the readers at the Sigonella library.
4. Spent time being silly with Dave, lots of laughter, lots of fun.
5. Enjoyed my first Negroni in Italia! A Negroni is an Italian cocktail of equal parts Campari, gin and sweet vermouth, usually garnished with an orange, I got lime and orange last night. Boozy and delicious!

Lípari has been a wonderful place to spend our first Italian holiday. We practiced our bar etiquette (remember that “bar” refers to the bar within a cafe, where you order your coffee and pastry); we tasted Lípari’s specialties of Malvasia and capperi (capers); we took long walks on the beach and kayaked along the rugged coast; we had deep and challenging conversations and we laughed even more; we learned a bit of history along with modern culture; we had romantic seaside meals; we took luxurious naps and slept in ’til 8; and we were sweating every glorious moment. Grazie, Lípari!

A few pictures from our morning Castello tour, no photos were allowed at the exhibits.

20110905-104139.jpg

20110905-104156.jpg

20110905-104214.jpg

6 Comments

Filed under 5-100, Food. Cibo.

6 responses to “Una chiesa (church) e Un Negroni

  1. MBSmith

    What a wonderful trip! Absolutely beautiful…have a negroni for me. Cin Cin!

  2. So beautiful. I want to go back to Italy so badly. I just had so much fun there walking around and taking pictures of everything.

    • Italy is amazing. I find myself making up little stories and imagining how the tales of The Odyssey were inspired by some of the same scenery. This was especially true of my kayaking trip around Lipari.

      I love looking at photos on the blogs that I follow and I know I will upgrade to a better camera at some point. How/when did you decide to upgrade from a point & shoot? I noticed you mentioned different cameras in a recent post.

  3. Melanie

    I love that dress on you Jill!

Sharing is caring...

