Buon giorno? Ciao? Which is it?

5-100 

  1. Enjoyed reading “Watership Down”        (http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/76620.Watership_Down) while sipping tea with my breakfast. I also learned that the library terrace employs a broadcasted bird call for bird and pest deterrence. It reminded me of the owl statues used in Seattle (http://www.harborfreight.com/Great-Horned-Owl-Garden-Scarecrow-42265.html?utm_medium=cse&utm_source=nextag&hft_adv=40011&mr:referralID=1565c6f8-d3a9-11e0-891e-001b2166c2c0). The owl statues are more quietly effective.
  2. Set up a job interview!
  3. Attempted my speed workout for this week. I got some good speedwork in, and it helped me decide how to structure my running goals; baby steps instead of moon-surface-leaps.
  4. Completed all of the errands on my to-do list!
  5. Got a good snuggle out of Maki, my less-snuggly cat.

Salve, buon giorno! (Hi, good morning!) Here inItaly, it is common to call out a greeting when you enter an office, a store, or someone’s home. Greetings are a polite way to announce your arrival and they show respect, especially to the elder generation. Once you are friendly with someone, or at the very least you are familiar with one another, then you can switch to the less formal greeting “Ciao!” You should never use “ciao” when speaking to an elderly person, always stick to “buon giorno” until about 1-2pm and then switch to “buona sera” (good afternoon/evening). Arrivederci!

***Random photo today***

This woman was waiting at the bus station during my lengthy wait.

Like most Italian women, she seemed to be no-nonsense…

…and then her phone rang.

Her ringtone was Cyndi Lauper’s “Girls Just Wanna Have Fun!” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PIb6AZdTr-A

Yay!

5 Comments

Filed under 5-100, Adjusting, Kitties

5 responses to “Buon giorno? Ciao? Which is it?

  1. That’s funny! Also, congrats on getting a job interview! It took me about 7 months to get a job in London 😦

  2. The Girls Just Wanna Have Fun story is absolutely adorable! Not sure what you’re applying for as I’m new to your blog, but good luck on that interview:)

    • Welcome to the blog! I moved to the US Navy base Sigonella, on Sicily. I am a military spouse/attorney and am looking for a job here that will offer me the opportunity to build some more supervisory skills. My interview was for a supervisor position at a bank on base.

  3. Did she answer the phone with, “Ciao pronto!” … I just love that.

  4. Pingback: Sigonella Directory | The Cinquecento Project

Sharing is caring...

