“Sounds like someone has a case of the Mondays” (a la “Office Space”)

5-100

  1. Made it through a crabby Monday without snapping at anyone! (Thank you, Office Space.)
  2. Found the lemon juice I love at the commissary (made from organic lemons & without any additives!).
  3. Learned how to order foods by weight: Etto = ~ 3.5oz., Mezzochilo (1/2 a kilogram) = ~ 1#, Kilo = 2.2#.
  4. Read on the balcony and watched the colors fade from the sky and the horizon light up with sunset over the mountains.
  5. Dave rubbed menthol lotion on my feet at the end of the day.

In our indoctrination class, we have moved on to Inter-Cultural Relations – or Culture Shock 101. We are learning about Italian non-verbal communication cues. We also reviewed the timeline of emotions that inspired this blog: “Initial Euphoria (honeymoon stage), Irritability and Hostility, Gradual Adjustment, Adaptation or Biculturalism.” At this point, Dave leaned over and pointed to the timeline. I looked down; his finger pointed to “Irritability Hostility.” I stared solemnly at his finger, noticing the shape of his fingernail, and the creases in the skin surrounding his knuckle. Then, I glanced up at his face, and we both burst out laughing.

4 Comments

Filed under 5-100

4 responses to ““Sounds like someone has a case of the Mondays” (a la “Office Space”)

  1. Katie

    Love the blog Jill. Your format is great with the combination of informative lists along with a little bit of beautiful prose to document your experiences. You always did have a knack for language. I have been getting into reading blogs more now that I am in a new city myself and have more time on my hands and fewer people I know. Enjoy your adventure!

    • Katie!

      Thanks for the feedback 🙂 Before you know it, you may be blogging, too.

      I didn’t know you had moved. Next position on the path for your husband? Still in the west? I’m excited to hear about your next adventure.

      • Katie

        I’ve thought about it, but for now I’m just a lurker:) We moved to Baltimore for the year. My husband is doing a hand fellowship here, then heading back out West. Loving the seafood and sightseeing, but missing the friends and family.

  2. Pingback: Sigonella Directory | The Cinquecento Project

Sharing is caring...

