Shell Lake. And, melancholy.

5-100

  1. MAIL! Cards from family and the big box of goods we mailed from home.
  2. Bowl of baked parmigiano that accompanied my pasta. Pasta was so-so, baked cheese = Yummy!
  3. Watched “Mafioso.”
  4. Understood many parts of “Mafioso.”
  5. Got a big juicy email from Mom.

The past is gently haunting my dreams. Many days, I go to the memory well and lower my pail. With precision, I aim to collect memories to revise my resume for relevant job specifications. Inevitably, other memory aspects slosh into my pail unnoticed and rise to the surface. Those memory shadows visit me in my sleep. Last night, I dreamt of beautiful Shell Lake. If you know me even a little, you know that Shell Lake is very special to me. Dreaming of it invigorates me and promotes a deep melancholy, simultaneously. And, I wouldn’t have it any other way.

4 Comments

Filed under 5-100

4 responses to “Shell Lake. And, melancholy.

  1. Sara Ring

    Shell Lake is one of my favorite places in the world. Love that you are writing and posting pictures there. I hope I can visit one day soon.

    – Sara

  2. Re: Shell Lake. What a great place to truly understand what the term ‘family’ can mean, in so many facets. Many of these facets are nothing but positive, even if they may not have seemed that way at the time. And…Smith stories. Wow, I could go on and on and on…

  3. Zina

    Shell Lake, huh? I thought I knew you well!

Sharing is caring...

